Take the poll

6/26: MNA  is informing its strike supporters from other unions  working  in the hospitals to wear green dots to thwart identifying those who didn’t support a strike and were commenting on this blog. 

Due to this development the poll has been removed.

This topic is now read-only

63 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by wyzeguy on June 26, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Love the idea of something so we can identify one another. If harassed we can always file a complaint with HR.

    • Posted by L&D RN"SCAB" on June 27, 2010 at 5:12 am

      Hi, keep in mind that anyone can read your posts,even us ‘scabs” Why do you feel the need to wear a green dot? I hope that ALL the RNs working will support each other. I have worked 2 strikes before. It is such a hard decision. Yes the money is good, but it takes a lot of courage to leave one’s family and be willing to work in a new environment. A strike is harder than the usual travel assignment because we do not have as much support staff. However I assure you that 99% of the replacement nurses I have worked with are extremely competent and compassionate. We get along very well with your staff and want to provide the best care possible. We realize our(your) patients are anxious,as well as your staff. We do our best to reasssure you all. Nurses who are willing to work a strike are smart nurses. We wouldn’t put our licenses on the line for a one time job. We know we can do the job well,we are flexible and adapt to new things quickly. Fortunately we have usually worked at many different hospitals across the country and at some point have used almost every type of computer charting and equipment there is.Please, rest assured,you will be working with GREAT nurses! Of course there may be a few that aren’t so great-as in any hospital. Most will be wonderful!!!! Good luck to you all. I have not decided yet if I am coming.My kids are on summer break and we have many camping trips planned. I hate to miss out on activities with my kids. Keep me posted on how the labor and delivery units are going! I have 20 years experience. xox

      • Posted by quiltmom on June 28, 2010 at 2:50 am

        Well said. You are most welcome here. The RN’s I worked with on June 10 were wonderful. I had a great day and so did our patients.

    • Posted by wildfox on June 27, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      Would this be for nurses only or for ancillary staff who support the nurses too?

    • Posted by wildfox on June 27, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      We could start wearing green clothing as well. I have been staying away from red (i love red!).

  2. Posted by Leyla on June 26, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I’d be willing to start wearing a green dot NOW.

    I think Green is a great theme color. Think about it, MNA has their bright RED color, which is really beginning to represent the strike, or the choice to STOP working. We’ll have GREEN, representing our willingness to GO to work. hehe.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 26, 2010 at 7:44 pm

      Love it! 🙂

      I think anybody who wants to can start to wear the green dot. Many others likely won’t feel comfortable until 7am on 7/6. Whatever people feel comfortable with they should do.

    • Another good reason to GO GREEN!

    • Posted by Someone who cares on June 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

      Someone has already posted that the union will have the people who support the strike wear the green stickers as well to confuse people. You need to come up with something different that will be implemented on July 6th at all of the hospitals and given only to employees who are working. The hospitals did it this way during the one day strike. Whatever you decide it has to be kept secret until July 6th or else the union will use it also.

  3. Posted by acsofs on June 26, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Great idea! My dot will be on ASAP.

  4. Posted by anotherview on June 27, 2010 at 5:35 am

    I am not a nurse. I like the idea of you knowing who you all are so you can support one another. Two concerns – one, MNA will also know who you are pre-strike – this will create a huge amount of pressure. And Two, there may be some infiiltration from MNA to keep an eye on activities. Don’t know that there will be anything terribly secret. Remember, MNA is reading this blog too just as we read theirs.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 27, 2010 at 7:13 am

      I think most aren’t going to be wearing the green dot until 7am on 7/6. Those that will wear it beforehand aren’t worried if MNA and their co-workers know who they are. Yes, we are aware that MNA is reading this blog. And on that score they might as well know how some members feel about what’s going on and how they’ve been treated and read the information we are providing first hand. We are not giving out anybody’s information to anybody else unless they first consent. And I welcome MNA and their strike supporters to read the Blogroll.

    • Posted by Leyla on June 27, 2010 at 9:18 am

      Here’s why I want to start wearing one right now:

      When MNA started handing out bright red lanyards, I was OK with that.
      Then they started wearing Florence Nightingale pins, and I was OK with that too.
      I also started noticing people wearing “We Care. For You” pins, and that made me roll my eyes, but it was OK.
      Then, THEN, they began wearing huge buttons that said, “I’LL STRIKE” and I am SO not OK with that! It is so outright hostile that I can’t believe a nurse, a caring, professional nurse, would wear such a thing while performing patient cares! Not only do I think it is a nasty thing to wear in front of patients, I find it borderline intimidating/threatening.
      As such, I want this subtle way (beyond not wearing their paraphernalia) to show them that I WILL NOT STRIKE. Heck, I’d wear an “I WONT STRIKE” button, but I think that is outright trying to instigate problems and would be unprofessional.

      I also feel that wearing the green dot now will offer some sense of solidarity to the other nurses who are considering crossing, but worried that they’d be alone in being attacked. I want them to know that there are more of us out there.

      • Posted by drichmn on June 27, 2010 at 9:22 am

        Thank you. It takes courage to be so public. From reading the comments, it’s clear there is a hostile work environment being fostered by strike supporters. I find wearing that “I’ll strike” button in front of patients and families unconscionable.

        • Posted by Izzy on June 27, 2010 at 10:46 pm

          I’ll start with, I’m a non-contract non-RN employee. The first union propaganda that made it’s way into my hospital was the stickers that said “protect our pension.” It frustrated me greatly in the current economy that anyone with a job might wear that in front of vulnerable people who may not have a job. I registered a complaint with HR and while it may have been coincidental, the stickers were far less prominent shortly after that.

          The lanyards didn’t bother me at all. People wear lanyards with their favorite sports team. I, too, was OK with that. I have to also agree that the succession of pins were more and more hostile. “My contract keeps you safe.” Really? The contract itself? Nurses keep patient’s safe as do a team of other professionals surrounding the nurses. But, when the “I’ll Strike” pins showed up, I just wanted to puke.

          I know for sure on July 6th when I come into work, I’ll be wearing something green!

  5. I think the red T-shirts and buttons make some patients uneasy. I feel it is inappropriate at the bedside. From a personal experience, my son was in an ED @ 10:45pm on June 9th, he expressed it increased his anxiety and “doesn’t your hospital have a dress code?” was the question he asked me after his encounter with his nurse wearing a MNA t-shirt and lanyard as she cared for him. He said ” I thought the strike started at midnight and was unsure what to expect .”

    • I agree and I wish the hospital could address this issue but not sure if they want to get into that one….but I do think it brings this mess into the patient care areas and that we should not be doing.

    • Posted by Someone who cares on June 27, 2010 at 11:18 pm

      The nurses wearing the MNA and strike propaganda are the ones endangering the patients. Imagine coming into the ED with chest pains, hearing about all of the “unsafe” work conditions, seeing all the angry nurses in the media and than having YOUR nurse come up to you wearing a bright red t-shirt and pin supporting the strike. If you are not having a heart attack when you came in you might once you see that.

      • Posted by cathy on June 28, 2010 at 6:21 am

        your statement is very judgemental.

        • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 6:53 am

          personally I see it more as an alternate point of view. It’s unfortunate that discussions and views about contract issues aren’t left off of the patient care units. I think it would be wise to look at it from the patients and families perspective.

    • Posted by C.C. on June 28, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      I was told management couldn’t say anything about the red t-shirts unless a patient complained. (Other staff complained it wasn’t professional-had a float nurse wearing this one shift). I don’t wear T-shirts to work so why would this be an okay choice for a uniform?

  6. Posted by acsofs on June 27, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Wearing the green dot now will be my show of support for everyone who plans to work, and anyone on the fence. If I can help even one nurse from making a huge mistake with their employment and financial future, I’m onboard. The patients deserve this kind of support also.

  7. Posted by rndmcrzyktty on June 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    While I’m not a nurse and my department is actually located off campus, I’m still going to be adding a green dot to my badge to show my support. I can’t imagine what you guys are having to go through.

  8. Posted by MNA contract RN on June 27, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Green dot on this RN’s name tag. God Bless.

  9. Posted by MNA contract RN on June 27, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Soon to be non MNA

  10. Posted by MNChildrensNurse on June 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I just want to caution all of us to be careful about approaching anyone wearing a green dot before the 6th however as over on the MNA FB page they are talking about adding the green dots to their tags so we won’t know who is who. For those of you who are willing to wear the dot now, we do appreciate all of you, but we probably won’t approach you until after the 6th. Please know though, that we do appreciate all of you and your support!!!

  11. Posted by acsofs on June 27, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    To wear the green dot and then go on strike. Not a dignified plan for directing a manager’s, a co-worker’s, or a patient’s attention to your professional and patient centered temperament as a nurse.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 27, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      I think what they are also saying is that those unionized workers not going on strike who work in the hospital but who support the strike would also be wearing the green dots to confuse others. I’m not seeing much professionalism from those who strongly support MNA and the strike.

      • Posted by acsofs on June 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm

        “I’m not seeing much professionalism from those who strongly support MNA and the strike.”

        Bingo!

        Their green dot plan suggests to me, desperate times call for desperate measures.

  12. Posted by anotherview on June 28, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Too bad you can create pins or stickers – “I work for patients and families – No Strike” or “I’m always here for you.” so patients and families can see which nurses they can rely on.

    • Posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2010 at 6:47 am

      Great idea! I am a nurse leader so not MNA, but I would proudly wear a no strike pin!

      • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 7:14 am

        As much as we all want patients and families to know there are those who don’t agree with and won’t strike, I honestly think it would be best if we don’t encourage a button war and that we only think about what the patients and families need during what will be a very stressful week for all involved.

        I would have immense respect for the MNA nurses that would remove their strike gear for the sake of their patients, families, visitors to the hospitals this week.

  13. Posted by Mark on June 28, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I admire your resolve to do what you feel is right.

    I am worried about the impact this strike/negotiation will have on other, non-union employees down the road in these economic times.

    Interesting blog, I will come back to read more in the future.

  14. Posted by linkedoutsider on June 28, 2010 at 10:22 am

    My husband is an MD. I will make sure to fish out as many of his green ties as I can get my hands on!

  15. Posted by nostrike on June 28, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I work at the corporate office of one of the hospital groups. You are not alone and 99% of people here support nurses who cross the picket-line and are anti-strike. It is plain to see that the MNA is out of touch with reality and grasping at straws to win their demands.

  16. Posted by FrustratedRN on June 28, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I just want to THANK the nurse who started this blog!! I am a nurse at one of the hospitals where the strike will be taking place on July 6th. I have been so frustrated with MNA and these “negotiations”. It is so good to see that many other nurses see the proposal and behaviors of MNA as unreasonable and ridiculous. I am not alone. I also appreciate the links and information you provide about crossing the picket line. It is a very scary thing to think of crossing and changing my happy and enjoyable work environment into a hostile and unfriendly one. But, I am considering it. I just can not stand out for the issues at hand. Your resources will help me make an informed decision. Thank you.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

      Thank you very much. I am glad the resources are of help to your decision making.

    • Posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      This whole situation is very disappointing, that neither side seems to be able to speak the truth and negotiate to find answers to the issues we face. Instead, the polarization we see totally blinds the correct presentation of facts and keeps both sides from doing what is right for both patient care and for the nurses. We are professionals. Let us not stoop to the depths of name calling, mud throwing crazy people who are stuck in the past. We need to find new and creative ways to achieve what is best for all involved. We need to ask both sides to avoid skewing numbers. We need to find answers and work together for a common purpose. Are these financially trying times for both hospitals and our entire world? Yes. Do we have challenges? Yes. But why can’t management and nurses become creative and find a staffing model that has no tie to California or some big union plan…a plan that works for us and for safe patient care. A plan to allow us to have time, flexibility, orientation and passion to care for our patients the way that we feel so deeply about. Yet, we must realize that we are employees and need to support what the hospitals really require for bottom line operation. But right now we can’t seem to really find the truth and trust that a solution can be reached at this moment in time. It is a process and needs the commitment of both sides to find a mutually agreeable starting point, and move forward to make our healthcare work for the best of all. That said, I am really wanting to keep my pension benefits. I am needing them desperately as I am about 5 years from wanting to retire. Is there anyway we can phase in a different model and that will maintain a good pension, but be more agreeable to hospitals? Would welcome ideas.
      Finally, it would be very hard to cross the picket line because we have benefited a lot from our union of the past. But both sides have become so militant that it is hard to swallow. And we will hopefully have the right information to make an informed decision when we are faced with the question of what we, individually, need to do. And may we move forward with acceptance and respect for each and every individual, no matter what decision they make. And let’s believe that God is still in control.

      • Posted by barb on June 28, 2010 at 10:34 pm

        I agree. I Was an evening supervisor during the last strike and was required to work. There were no ill feelings towards me but those MNA members who crossed took a lot of grief . 13 years later as our hospital was closing I heard a snide remark about a nurse who crossed The nurse in question was a kind gentle person who was devoted to her [patients. I have been retired for a year and my MNA pension for 10 years in the contract is quite small but I would urge members to give in on wages, negotiate and compromise on staffing, and hold firm on the [pension.

  17. Posted by LK on June 28, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Be brave non-strikers. We need to show the public that not everyone supports the tactics that the MNA is using. I will work.

  18. Posted by wildpitch on June 28, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    OK, I’m a little confused. the headline says not to wear green but all the comments state the opposite. Which is it?

    • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      the comments were up there before I updated with the alert. I think I will put a date on that alert so it’s not so confusing. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.

      • Posted by Leyla on June 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

        Or maybe edit back in the original post at the bottom? I agree, it would be confusing just coming in.

  19. Posted by Leyla on June 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I don’t see how having non-MNA members wear green dots would really thwart our cause. I doubt they’d get many CNA’s, etc to wear them, unless they did support our cause. If anything, I think even having people wear them falsely would lend weight to the fact that we exist, and WE WILL CROSS. No MNA member and strike supporter will wear the green dot, and if they do, they’ll likely still have their strike gear on. As such, nurses who support crossing and wear the green dot will still be able to identify each other.

    Please excuse the name calling, but what a bunch of scaredy cats thinking they need to resort to these tactics. On their fb page they’re busy shouting how they are “12,000 strong,” then they turn around and have to do this? Rather conflicting messages IMHO.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Yes, it is rather silly but it must have shaken their faith. And they aren’t actually “12,000 strong”. Not everybody agrees and we don’t know where those 3800 or so who didn’t vote actually stand. It’s that same misleading use of numbers as when they say 87% of TC nurses voted to strike. That’s baloney because not all of the TC union members contracts are being negotiated, not all of the union members in this negotiation voted to strike, and not all TC nurses are in the union.

  20. Posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I know for fact that a good portion of ED nurses at one hospital are not supporting strike and really weighing options. Most are unaware of what was posted here regarding the ANA-NNU swap without a vote. One nurse reported that those behind strike are largely from night shifts.

  21. Posted by rndmcrzyktty on June 28, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Silent but Strong

    That is how I think of those who are against a strike as a way to end the negotiations. You nurses, and others, who agree and think that the strike is a mistake and that there are more important things (patients for instance!) and better way to end this. While you are strong in your convictions and are asking the questions, your numbers grow and you continue to do so. You will not lose any of your number, you can only grow. Meanwhile there are planty of MNA nurses who have been following the flock and are starting to wonder and to think and ask those questions you have already answered. The only thing the MNA has to lose is it’s members… and that is exactly what is happening!

  22. Posted by Heidi on June 28, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I’m a supportive observer. I have a close friend in Mgmt and another who’s a nurse. What I’ve learned about MNA has made me question unions for the first time in my life. They may win the battle, but are they losing the war with their over-aggressive tactics? I don’t know. Regardless, please don’t make this about caring or not caring about patients, as seems implied in some of the prior comments made. The way I see it, just as many nurses care who are striking as not striking. Disagreement should stay focused on MNA’s tactics.

    It takes courage to not strike, and it takes courage to strike. It especially takes courage to use your own brain, not buy into rhetoric, not sell out to the lie that “ends justify any means,” and retain your integrity during a heated controversy. Thus, I take the side of anyone (on either side) who acts nobly in this harrowing time of personal decision by making up their own mind. If that is you, feel proud of yourself!!! And remember, courage isn’t defined by absence of fear, but rather action despite feeling afraid.

  23. Posted by Brian Lubbers on June 28, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    If we all stand together it would be a very short strike. The hospital is counting on nurses crossing. That would make for a longer strike, unsafe patient care, and more hard feelings. United we stand, divided we fall/fail. Brian. I bet this won’t stay here very long.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 28, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      you’re entitled to your opinion even if it differs from ours. As long as your comments are respectful your comments won’t be deleted. But be aware that this blog was started for nurses who didn’t feel that they were allowed dissent to have a place to share their feelings, views, and seek information and support. We know your views because we can read them on the MNABlog and FB page. I invite you to read the links in the Blogroll because they will help you to understand how our views were formed.

  24. Posted by An ANW RN on June 28, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    I was totally unaware of this website prior to the 6/28 article inthe StarTrib. Kudos to you for giving true professionals a forum. I truely resent the lack of transparency or any meaningful information emerging from either side of these “negotiations”. I feel that we, as union members ,are just puppets on a string and I seriously wonder if the union itself has fallen under the spell of National Nurses United? Who knew about this organization prior to our contract talks anyway? MNA says “trust us” and I say “listen to us”. We want to get a fair contract for us and the hospitals and get back to doing what we do best. Both sides need to swallow a big dose of reality and get back to work!

  25. Posted by vandersmom on June 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    i am a volunteer at methodist hospital. my father was an airline pilot and i grew up with multiple strikes in my life. i remember the people who crossed the line and how he changed his opinions of them after a couple of them crossed. i had a girlfriend whose father crossed, and i remember the confusion i felt about her and projecting my fathers feelings toward even her for a time. we knew each other later in life and are very distant acquaintances today still. funny enough, she is a nurse in minnesota and regularly posts to facebook about her frustrations and i am fairly certain is in agreement with the strike!

    i don’t know where i am going with this, just that it is interesting that her father crossed, and i would LOVE to know now why he did. did he think that he made pretty good money, and that the unions were getting too greedy? did he feel like there needed to be good (seasoned) pilots out there keeping passengers safe while on their flights, as opposed to new guys right out of flight school? i know for a fact that the CEO’s of United Airlines were making excellent money and went out with golden parachutes. my father retired from United with little to show from his 38 years of work. lost at least a million dollars in the end. pension all but gone.

    i don’t even know where he stands on unions now. i guess i should ask sometime. it was a bit of a different story, because they did an employee buyout and it turned out to have been a horrible idea.

    to make myself clear, i have no opinions on the strike either way!! i can only imagine how difficult each side feels this issue is…i just wonder where the strike will take nurses. will they end up where pilots did, feeling like bus drivers and now working for much less money than they ever used to? or do they already feel like this, and that is what they are trying to avoid? i have so much respect for the men and women i see at my hospital, and hope i get as good a care as i see them giving when i need it.

    i feel for you all and want to support the nurses on the floors that i work on (pet therapy) at the hospital, but just wonder what it is all about. this blog helps me to understand a little more as an “innocent” bystander….especially given the way i grew up feeling about strikes. thanks.

    • Posted by barb on June 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

      My father-i -law came out of retirement to fly for United during the strike. He felt that the company had given him a good living and he wanted to support it. My mother-in-laws father was an important union organizer in Australia. They got along well and agreed to disagree. Political differences should not divide family or friends.

  26. Posted by Jenna on June 28, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Thank you! I agree.

  27. Posted by noncontractrn on June 28, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I love you all! I am an RN that has a non-contract position and I was afraid that all nurses had lost the ideals that made them become RN’s in the first place, to care for those that need it most. It warms my heart to see all of you posting here! I thank each and everyone of you who will cross the line.

    • Posted by goodnurse19 on June 28, 2010 at 10:25 pm

      Thank you for supporting us. As each day brings us closer to the strike, we appreciate hearing from nurses like yourself who are behind us.

  28. Posted by ConfusedRN on June 29, 2010 at 12:32 am

    I too found this site after reading the strib article. Thanks for creating an environment that is positive and a safe place to express an opinion. My head is spinning with all of the information flying around from both sides. Initially at the opening of the bargaining, I would say I quietly aligned myself with the MNAs proposals. I have worked side-by-side with 2 of our bargaining members and want to believe that they have our best interests at heart and are disseminating truthful information about the union’s values and goals for negotiations. However, as of late, I’m beginning to wonder what can be believed from either side of the bargaining table. I’m also having issue with the MNAs tactics and also some of the other causes they have supported lately.
    I’m finding myself wanting to be apathetic and not take a side at all-guess that’s the easy self-preserving way out for me 😦 I’m losing hope in either side and for a timely resolution. I don’t want to cross, but also not picket and support the MNA. However, I do realize that in not crossing, I’m supporting the MNA by default.
    I’m a little afraid of the working conditions if I do cross-the thought of directly hurting/harming a patient if resources are limited or I made an error d/t an unsafe environment is almost too much for me to even think of. Don’t know if I’d be able to recover from that! The thought of someone being harmed b/c they don’t have enough RNs at their bedside is also equally as unsettling. Arrggh, why does this have to be such a difficult decision? Guess I’m actually a little less apathetic than I wish I could be.
    If I decided to cross the lines, would it be at my current number of employed hours or would I be expected to work more hours than currently scheduled? I’m not able to work many more hours than I do currently d/t a lack of child care.
    Thanks for any information. I’ll keep trying to do my own research as well as I come closer to making my final decision.
    Praying for a resolution tomorrow so none of us actually have to make these difficult decisions!

    • Posted by goodnurse19 on June 29, 2010 at 12:37 am

      I spoke to my own HR dept at Childrens’ and they stated that if I cross, I will only be expected to work my present appointment. I am sure that if I want to pick up extra, I will be allowed to do so.

    • Posted by drichmn on June 29, 2010 at 12:42 am

      Thanks for coming to the blog. We are here to offer support and answer any questions you may have. I would encourage you to talk to your manager about hours if you decide to cross.

      Everybody has to make their own personal decision based on what’s right for their families and personal circumstances. We only hope that whether nurses cross or whether they picket that each will be respectful and non-judgmental of the others decision.

      I’d invite you to look through the FAQ’s tab at the top of the page.

      Good luck.

    • Posted by Leyla on June 29, 2010 at 7:21 am

      My manager asked if I’d be willing to work more hours. I’m fairly certain I would have been allowed to work only my current appointment if that’s all I could manage. They are just so grateful to have any additional staff, experienced in the hospitals policies, procedures and computer systems, that they are likely to be very willing to work with you.

    • From what others have said if you cross you can continue to work what you do now….the hospital will not make you work more..but you can if you wish. Good luck with your decision…either way it is a difficult one to make.

Comments are closed.

