Request from a Commenter

MNChildrensNurse:

“Ok guys–I want to renew an old idea we had recently here, but also to expand on it. Now that we are increasing in numbers–lets all go in to work on Tuesday wearing green shirts! Lets stand strong and do our green for go theme.  And replacement rns who see this–please join us with the green shirts–we welcome you! Are you guys all up for that? Even if the MNA has ancillary staff who will see this and wear green tops–it doesn’t matter–we will at least know that us rn’s are all there in support of each other and our patients. So what do you guys think? huh? can we do it? pleeeeeeeeeeease? pretty please?”

…forget the sticky dots!  I would love to see us all march into our respective units wearing green shirts that day with our heads held high!  Even if ancillary staff on MNA’s side were to wear green shirts in an attempt to “confuse” us…we will still know who we are because we will be the rn’s.  I think it would show a huge message to our patients and our leadership teams.  Just think of what a message that will send!

This topic is now read-only.

42 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I will proudly wear green!

  2. Posted by answer to prayer on July 1, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Love this idea! Rest assured, we will be received with open arms and with the utmost respect from the staff in the hospital…especially the practitioners and MDs….Be proud of your decision!

  3. Posted by Alyssa on July 1, 2010 at 9:43 am

    I’m not an RN, but I work at PEI in Revenue Cycle Management. Is there something non-union and/or non-nursing staff can do to show our support? Can we wear green too?

    • Just so everyone realizes MNA will put this out there as soon as they hear (as they probably already have) so don’t wear until strike time. We appreciate support from everyone…as we will be there to support you all as well…this has an impact on everyone.

      • Posted by MNChildrensNurse on July 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm

        that’s ok nostrikefornurses—they won’t be there at that time, so I thought we should be pretty much fine, and if they have ancillary staff planted to watch for us, well, they will know who we are already anyway.
        on a side note-just got home from mailing my resignation letter, so I’m good to go!!! and went to the gift shop and got my lime green shirt 🙂

    • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 9:58 am

      absolutely you can wear green! Maybe you want to go back to the “green dots” idea. But green shirts, green pants, green hats, green hair. Any green will do! (but not green beer please) 🙂

      • Posted by Alyssa on July 1, 2010 at 10:05 am

        Great! I’ll be wearing something (visibly) green every day of the strike to support the strength, courage, and compassion all of you crossing the picket lines exhibit. 🙂

      • Posted by answer to prayer on July 1, 2010 at 11:17 am

        LoL, Go Green!

    • Posted by MNChildrensNurse on July 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      yes you can!!! Thank you so much!!!

  4. Posted by ANW on July 1, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I will be wearing green proudly and will encourage others to do so!
    Thanks for the great support.

  5. Posted by angrypatient on July 1, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Odd I was thinking this earlier this morning…I’ll be in green. I’m not a nurse, but I’ll be busy busy busy!

  6. Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Please check the “Announcements”, the National Right to Work Foundation is offering free legal assistance to Minneapolis nurses.

  7. Posted by Supporter on July 1, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Other staff from the hospital is talking about wearing green to show support, too. This is specific to ANW nurses – where’s a good place to drop off some cookies on Tuesday to show support?

    • Posted by MNChildrensNurse on July 1, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      Ummmmmm…..maybe you could drop them off at Children’s….and MAYBE we will get them over to ANW–LOL!!!!!
      Actually–I’m not sure where you would take them, I would maybe just go there and ask security when you get there, and they could probably point you in the right direction. However, hopefully an ANW nurse will come on here and give you better advice.

    • Posted by TC on July 1, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      You can drop cookies off at the Birth Center! We love cookies.

  8. Posted by Jeanne on July 1, 2010 at 11:42 am

    For all the nurses who don’t agree with the strike, get out of the union because you haven’t seen anything yet. The strike isn’t worth losing your job over and i guarantee that the MNA nurses will lose in the end. They are going down the wrong path with confidence.

  9. Posted by Supporter too on July 1, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I support you non-strikers and hope to see lots of green!!

  10. Posted by lrm on July 1, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I love the idea of of you all wearing green. Even more, I love the idea of holding your heads high.

    • Posted by RN Husband on July 1, 2010 at 1:42 pm

      Except for the small detail that Temple University Hospital v. RNs was a lockout not a strike – http://www.philly.com/inquirer/local/pa/20100613_Temple_nurses_win_jobless_benefits_in_work_stoppage.html

      Nice try though.

      • Posted by angrypatient on July 1, 2010 at 1:56 pm

        My guess the that Chris is going along with the (flawed) “selective lockout” theory that the MNA has been professing to it’s members. There was no lockout, period. The nurses (and the MNA) were told what the return to work process would be before the strike started. If the ULP is successful, I’ll eat my hat.

        • Posted by RN Husband on July 1, 2010 at 2:04 pm

          > If the ULP is successful, I’ll eat my hat.

          +1 Of course, keep that hat on ice because we will not know for at least 2 years.

    • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      completely different issues with no relevance whatsoever to what’s going on here. You should read the link about this in the blog roll.

  11. Posted by angrypatient on July 1, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Chris what “email list” are you talking about that was “stolen”?

    • Posted by MNChildrensNurse on July 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm

      Yes–I would like to know too–what email list?

      • Posted by acsofs on July 1, 2010 at 1:47 pm

        And if someone is sending this blog address around, who is actually sending it? Proof please.

      • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 2:38 pm

        nothing more than an unfounded allegation by that commenter. If he/she persists in that behavior he/she will be subject to being banned.

    • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      I deleted that post as an unfounded allegation which is subject to deletion according to our blog rules.

  12. Posted by chris on July 1, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Zack Smith (zacksmith612@gmail.com)

    Nurses,
    After MNA’s performance at negotiations yesterday where MNA failed to bring the hospitals offer to the nurses to vote on it is now time to decide if you will walk off your jobs, abandon your patients and go on strike. If you do decide to strike you must keep in mind that the hospital can permanently replace you. Your employers provide you with excellent wages and benefits that allow you to live a comfortable life style. If any of you are interested there is support/information blog for nurses who are contemplating working during the strike or nurses who have decided to work. Please go to https://nostrikefornurses.wordpress.com/ and at least read stories of nurses who have decided to do the right thing and care for their patients. Good luck to all of you in this difficult time.

    ..this was sent to an email list complied by our MNA rep for the purposes of union communication.

    • Posted by angrypatient on July 1, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      Interesting. So who’s Zack Smith? I doubt he is a founder of this webpage that’s for sure. I wonder how he got his hands on the list? If it it is as you say it is, its underhanded for sure. But then it’s either that or post a message on one of the MNA’s echo chambers

      • Posted by goodnurse19 on July 1, 2010 at 2:40 pm

        Indeed he is not the founder of this blog.

      • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 2:44 pm

        you are correct, not a founder of this site. We have no email lists. Anything coming from this blog comes from our blog email address.

    • Posted by drichmn on July 1, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      this has nothing to do with us. We have no email list of anybody. So how did this person get the email list? Was this perhaps a “reply to all” from something that was sent to him?

      • Posted by angrypatient on July 1, 2010 at 2:44 pm

        Yeah I wonder if the rep sent out communications and listed the recipients….

  13. Posted by Patient's First RN on July 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    This is my first time posting here. I will be wearing green on Tuesday. I am a replacement RN from Minnesota and have been following this strike very closely. I am a former MNA Nurse, but I was screwed over by MNA and have no faith left in them. Regardless of my personal feelings on MNA, the patients are in the crossfire and need someone to care for them during this time. I have many opinions of my own on this strike, but I am not here to debate. I will say I am appauled that the MNA Negotiators rejected the proposals. The MNA RN’s should realize that there are at least 2 years of new graduates who are still looking for jobs and would glady replace them if this is not ruled in favor of MNA.

    I worked the one day strike and looked at the staffing grid on the unit I was on and thought it was very fair. I used to work in a MNA facility and had 15 patients a shift….yes I said 15 patients and that was just an 8 hour shift. Talk about unsafe.

    I am looking forward to working with all of you and just know I support your decision to cross and I respect that some will not cross.

  14. Posted by KoalabearRN @ChildrensMpls. on July 1, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    My certified resignation letter to MNA is in the mail! What a weight lifted off my heart!!

  15. Posted by Floatie on July 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Thank you all for this blog, I am so proud of everyone here who is a seeker of knowledge. It has been comforting the past few days to read this page and see the respect that is given here. I’m not super religous, but the Big Man upstairs has been working in wonderfully mysterious ways to find the support I have needed just when I was waivering. So thank you. It is comforting to know there are others out there that think like me. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

  16. Posted by anonymous on July 1, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    As a nurse I am proud of the professionalism displayed on this site. This has been a difficult time and this site has provided an outlet for nurses who believe and feel the same to connect and find support. Your work has just started, you have and will continue to make a difference — Great job to all of you.

Comments are closed.

