Letter from MNA

There have been a number of posts and questions relating to a letter that MNA is sending some members about a “hearing” they have scheduled.  The NRTW legal foundation has been contacted.

Phone # (800) 336-3600 if you want advice or legal representation.   All legal assistance is being provided free of charge.

UPDATE 7/29Press Release from the NRTW Legal Defense Foundation about filing unfair labor practice charges against MNA for illegally threatening disciplinary actions.

UPDATE 2: From MPR:

Nurses file federal unfair labor practice charges against MNA

And be sure to watch Kare 11 and WCCO TV tonight.

UPDATE 3: From Star Tribune:

Nurses who opposed strike say union is harassing them

UPDATE 4  7/30: Watch KARE 11 video

Some Minn. nurses say union made illegal threats

Update 8/2 This is a letter to send to MNA which has been looked over by various legal counsel. It is for those who did not resign from MNA prior to working.       letter from those who resigned

Update 10/14  Here is the appeal letter sent to the NLRB.  Appeal to NLRB

29 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Smileydog on July 26, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    What is the letter from Mna asking of the nurses that resigned or worked the strike. I worked the strike and have received no letter as of July 26.

    Reply

    • Posted by Dee on July 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

      It’s telling them a ” complaint” has been made and that they have to attend a “hearing”.

      Anybody who received such a letter should complete the form linked to in the post and contact the NRTW lawyer by the end of this week.

      Reply

    • If you receive this letter in the future do contact the NRTW…these might just be the nurses who a complaint was filed against at this time.

      Reply

    • Posted by answer to prayer on July 27, 2010 at 9:03 am

      Smileydog. I also worked on June 10th and received a letter. I resigned the union on June 9th and have proof. Did you also resign prior to working?

      Reply

      • Posted by smileydog on July 27, 2010 at 1:48 pm

        Answer to prayer,

        I did resign from the union via registered mail. My coworker used regular mail service and has received the MNA letter “inviting” her to a hearing. We are speculating that may be the issue for her. She contacted them 2 weeks ago to confirm that they received her resignation. She was given an inaccurate date of resignation. She did not work the strike however. I’m not enjoying being used by the union to try to intimidate other coworkers of mine. I also did not enjoy being told by staff (mna supporters) that my coming to work the strike would mean great difficulty for me. I was warned that it would mean that it would be difficult to get shifts as a casual. I was warned that the nurses that worked the 1984 strike still feel the pain. Interesting that “we care for you” nurses have such harsh/rediculous personalities.

        Reply

        • Posted by answer to prayer on July 29, 2010 at 11:28 am

          Dee Can you call me. Penny worked last night. I am interviewing with Esme Murphy at 1pm another colleague may as well Already interviewed with May at strib….any other takers out there

          Reply

          • Posted by Serenity on August 5, 2010 at 6:01 am

            I’ve been busy working and appreciate coming back here and seeing the letter that I will be more than happy to send to Linda/James. I am actually enjoying working because I feel so comfortable about crossing the picket line the first time. I of course am being blatantly ignored by some nurses and I feel all the stronger in my conviction about leaving the union. I have support from my leader and nurses who are truly nurses!!! Again, all my thanks for this wonderful website:)

            Reply

  2. Posted by abbottnurse on July 27, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Let us know if there are hearings and you want some of us to show up to support the nurses who crossed the picket line on June 10th.

    Reply

  3. Posted by PJQ on July 28, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I received the letter of itimidation last night. The one day strike was rediculous for many reasons. Half of my co-workers were not scheduled to work that day. If you want to talk about safe patient care lets go. While I was working June 10th helping the travelers from the south provide safe patient care where were the people in red??? If anyone from the media wants to get involved with this story let me know.

    Reply

    • Please call the NRTW asap….they are working on things right now.

      Reply

      • Posted by answer to prayer on July 28, 2010 at 4:18 pm

        The lawyer filed my charges to the NLRB today along with 2 others. He can add others on if you file within 6 months. But remember the MNA says you have to respond within 15 days. The lawyer informed me that by filing this Claim that is sufficient response to MNA’ demand. PJQ did you resign prior to 6/10. Also, Media is showing interest in this..Penny can give you my e-mail

        Reply

  4. Posted by followingmyheart on July 28, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I work at Mercy and had made it clear from the start that not striking was a matter of conscience for me. For me it is morally and ethically wrong for nurses to ever strike. I didn’t resign from MNA for the 1 day strike because I really didn’t know I could do that. Any possible punishment from MNA would not have changed my conviction that I needed to “cross the line” to actually care for my patients anyway. Thanks to this website I learned a lot about what I needed to do. I resigned from the union on July 1, 2010 and I will never join “voluntarily” again until there is a “no strike” clause in the contract. I also am fed up with my money being used for political purposes that I do not agree with. I was one of the people who received the lovely letter of reprimand from MNA for being so awful that I would actually care about my patients enough to defy their authority. Interesting that under the the MNA logo on my letter it says, “Professional Distinction”, “Personal Dignity” and “Patient Advocacy” and then they have the nerve to send such a “strong-armed, bullying” letter to someone who actually was trying to act out the very things that this organization claims to stand for. Last night I contacted the NRTW legal foundation by e-mail and will be contacting a lawyer there by phone tomorrow. I am hoping to be at the August 19th meeting.

    Reply

    • Posted by answer to prayer on July 28, 2010 at 11:26 pm

      Connect with Glenn Taubman with the NRTW…did you receive the same letter that there is a complaint against you for working behind the line…but you actually didn’t

      Reply

      • Posted by followingmyheart on July 29, 2010 at 5:18 pm

        I did contact Glenn Taubman and we are working on my case. My letter from MNA states, “You have been charged with working behind the picket line established on June 10 and June 11, 2010”. I did cross the line for the one day strike and I did not know resigning from the union was even an option at that time. It was only because of this website that I really found the information I needed to know. That is why I resigned at the beginning of July.
        I found it interesting that the MNA FAQs sheet before the 1 day strike said, “there is no
        provision in the MNA Bylaws for assessing fines”. That sounds pretty clear to me that they cannot levy a fine. Since I did resign on July 1, 2010, I am not sure what more they can do to me. In the words of MNA, “Such discipline may include reprimand, censure, suspension, or expulsion from membership”. How can they give me the boot when I already voluntarily said my goodbyes?

        Reply

        • Posted by Dee on July 30, 2010 at 9:30 am

          MNA already has a track record for not following their bylaws by the way they severed ties with ANA without getting the required 2/3 vote of the membership. There’s no reason to believe they wouldn’t try to end around this as well.

          This time however nurses have a strong ally in the NRTW Legal Foundation and they shouldn’t hesitate to contact them for advice.

          Reply

  5. Posted by Happy to be on July 29, 2010 at 8:40 am

    I’m curious – what happens if people just don’t show up. Does the letter say?? This is crazy. Thank you to all the nurses who took a stand these past few months. Don’t let them bully you!

    Reply

    • Posted by answer to prayer on July 29, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Happy to be. The letter I received states that “You may also choose to waive your right to contest this allegation. In the event you waive that right, MNA will proceed in conducting a meeting of the Hearing Panel who will determine the appropriate penalty for the above action.” So basically, they are backing us into a corner…Damned if you do-Damned if you don’t. The lawyer from NRTW Has advised sending the union the following statement after filing unsafe labor charge..” I request that you refrain from any further disciplinary proceedings or “hearings”, and hold this “discipline” in abeyance, until those unfair labor practice charges are resolved.” This essentially puts the ball back in the unions court……What MNA is doing to us is ILLEGAL!

      Reply

      • Posted by answer to prayer on July 29, 2010 at 9:24 am

        Apologize…meant to say UNFAIR labor charge! I must have unsafe on the brain because I am continually providing dangerously unsafe patient care;)

        Reply

  6. Posted by Happy to be on July 29, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Here is what MNA included in their FAQs regarding those who cross the picket line…from their Web site. I was surprised it was still there, actually, since MNA deletes stuff that doesn’t work in their favor. Here is a link – please take screenshots in case they try to do something they said they couldn’t do….
    http://mnnurses.org/sites/default/files/documents/may-19th-voting-information-870.pdf

    Q: What will happen to me if I cross the picket line?
    A: MNA Bylaws provide that members, after due process, can be disciplined if charges are
    brought by other members. Such discipline may include reprimand, censure, suspension, or
    expulsion from membership. Contrary to what many hospitals have told nurses, there is no
    provision in the MNA Bylaws for assessing fines. More important than potential discipline,
    though, is the fact that you will have to work side by side with your peers who honored the
    picket line after the strike is over.

    Any discipline handed down from the union cannot affect your employment with your hospital. Members cannot be fired. No benefits can be taken away. Seniority doesn’t change, etc. Also, even if the union kicks someone out or suspends them, they are still REQUIRED to represent you. You’d just pay fair share dues.

    Reply

  7. Posted by wildfox on July 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    There is a story in Star Tribune today about how North Memorial is struggleing after the labor dispute. What did MNA accomplish with the “1 day strike”? Could this poor thought out strategy of MNA’s cost nurses their jobs and ancillary hospital workers too?

    Reply

    • Posted by ConcernedNurse on August 7, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      NM had closed one of their largest med-surg floors because of the 1 day strike. At the time I resigned from NM (beginning of July) it was still closed. A former co-worker of mine told me now that floor will remain closed and all the staff are once again (after 3 rounds of lay-offs last year) re-bidding for jobs. They also have “a big announcement” to make in the next week or two. I’m interested to see what it will be.

      Reply

      • NM was in financial trouble from what I hear before the strike but even one day added to their already stressed financial situation.

        Reply

  8. Posted by Leyla on July 30, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I was shocked that Nemo confessed to 220 resignations in the Star Trib piece. Given his less than honest tendencies I wonder how much higher the number really was.

    Reply

    • Posted by wildfox on July 30, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      We will never know the true number of the votes cast by RN’s during the labor dispute or the number of resignations MNA received. Many RN’s were waiting till the last moment to turn letters in to see if strike would be averted. This is why MNA needs a complete overhaul and elect persons who have patients, employers and the whole community in mind when making “by laws”. MNA needs to move on at this point and try to throw theirselves a life raft.

      Reply

      • When the financial records come out for 2010 we can see the membership numbers….but you are correct there were many more nurses who had their letters ready and had not mailed them and were waiting for Friday.

        Reply

  9. Posted by Linda R Larson on August 2, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    One of many great things that have resulted from this site is really holding MNA accountable on every level to its members and the public. So glad that the help RN’s who came to work on June 10th are getting legal help to get through the MNA threats. Don’t think that after all the lies and disrespectful and abusive behaviors from the union the past few months that a simple ‘we’re sorry’ is sufficient. I was amazed at the financial report. Wow – so many 6 figure salaries and probably some pretty excellent benefits. Also some pretty high cost expenses for meetings in hotels etc etc. Many in MNA are making twice the amount that RN’s make. Would be great to see their job descriptions to see what their responsibiilies are that would relate to that kind of pay. I applaud all of you who are continuing to stand up for the good of the nursing profession and excellence in patient care. There are still so many wounds from the past few months. Working toward a better future for the profession of nursing will help to heal the wounds. Working toward to zero tolerance of disrespectful behaviors like this site has provided goes a long way to put professional back in the nursing profession. I look forward to gathering on August 19th to meet you all and to celebrate what this site has done for the profession of nursing.

    Reply

    • Posted by Serenity on August 5, 2010 at 6:05 am

      I can’t wait to be there, finally a place for professional, patient care focus nurses to meet!!!!!!

      Reply

      • I too am proud of what I have done and will not let anyone intimidate me into feeling what I did was wrong. Looking forward to meeting you on the 19th!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

