2016

Allina Proposal

I wonder how many nurses actually know what they have rejected and what they are striking over? It is a sad repeat of 2010…in which the only one who wins is the union for showing they are a bully only interested in furthering their own cause.

68 responses to this post.

  1. As a nurse who crossed the picket line in 2010, I am confused about the issues that the nurses are striking over. I am now a non-contract nurse and pay for my health benefits like many other nurse, physicians and leaders. I have been very happy with the coverage. Why would a Hospital nurse think that they deserve different insurance than their fellow RN’s? I thought nursing was a profession, not a political entity. When did our profession turn away from what I hope we all became nurses for: to give care to the sick and dying, to make other lives better. I would cross the picket line again, I’m glad I don’t have to make that choice!

    Reply

    • I would like to know if the nurses truly know what the insurance options are going to be? I talked to a non-contract Allina nurse who said her insurance is not bad and is also utilized by the physicians. Again, it is sad when we just follow the crowd.

      Reply

    • Posted by anonymous on June 17, 2016 at 8:42 am

      Thank you so much. Seeing this blog makes me feel so much better about my choice to cross. I’ve lost all of my relationships with nurses. I’ve spent days crying. I do not think the nurses should be entitled to those plans from so long ago. Insurance coverage/premiums have changed for everyone They’re not truly fighting for nurse to patient ratios or patient safety. It’s all about this insurance.

      Reply

      • I am sorry you have had to make this decision. Our union went through a change in 2008 when they left the ANA and helped form the NNU (without member vote). I feel this gives me the right not to support them….and I do not feel my beliefs about nursing are in line with the unions. I do not debate my feelings. Best of luck and many blessings to you as you care for the patients next week.

        Reply

      • Hi,
        It takes courage, strength and support to cross. I would be lying if I told you that things will stay the way they are, because they won’t. I felt isolated, alone, and very betrayed! Nurses who would talk to me and invite me out for breakfast, no longer did so. I had colleagues that would not acknowledge me. I want you to know that you can come to this blog and know that you are not alone and I admire your courage, strength and integrity. I can go to sleep at night knowing in my heart that I did the right thing for me. You are not alone.

        Reply

  2. This wouldn’t happen to be a management or hospital Association run blog would it? Of course not……

    Reply

    • No it’s not, since I crossed the picket line in 2010 and have first hand knowledge of what it was like? Ask me any question, I’ll be honest with you, I can name names, but I won’t.

      Reply

    • No this is not a hospital blog I am a nurse at Children’s and I started it in 2010 so nurses could support each other and get information. I challenge nurses to really look at their options for health insurance to see what they are striking over. In 2010 many nurses had not even read what the real proposals were they just believed what they were told by MNA.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Judy on June 16, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    In a perfect you wouldn’t need a union – we do not live in a perfect world. At some point in the past hospitals sat at the negotiating table and said to the nurses “we can’t offer some of the things you want, the raise we can offer will not compare to what others in the workforce are being offered, but we can offer – in lieu of a raise – a nurses health plan” The nurses accepted this offer. Nurses did not extract this from a hospital (who btw has the highest “profit” margin in the city even though they are “non-profit”) it was a negotiated item that the hospital offered to provide as a compromise to a raise. Now I am not certain what the hospital would consider a fair raise this contract but I can assume it would mirror the 2% that was accepted at the other hospitals – 2% would in no way compensate the nurses for the loss of the nurses health plan that the HOSPITAL offered and agreed to provide in the past. To say they can’t afford it is not true – they offset the cost to a certain degree by offering you a lower pay raise. Let’s set the bar higher for ALL the workers! Nurses have exposure to more illness and injury than any other industry- as a mostly female industry we can and should do better for each other and in turn our patients. To hold hostage the nurse health plan before even considering discussions about issues affecting patient care is the hospitals equivalent of being the bully in the sandbox.

    Reply

    • Perhaps some people do not believe the nurses should have such a great health plan at the expense of others? This is not a site for debate….I started it in 2010 to offer support and information and had hoped it would never be needed again. Not all nurses support a strike and I would hope that they would be respected for that…but that is not case for many. Blessings for the patients who will be affected by this strike and the nurses who will be out on the picket line instead of caring for the patients in which they have vowed to protect and care.

      Reply

  4. Posted by jonesy on June 17, 2016 at 9:44 am

    I feel for the nurse who has been bullied. Statistics say 85% of nurses are bullied on the job sometime in their lifetime. How professional is that, there is no integrity in people who engage in this kind of behavior, you should agree to disagree and respect one another for what they believe in and not try to cram it down someone’s throat . For that nurse who spent days crying because of her decision – you make the decisions that are right for you and your family. You don’t owe anyone else your loyalty. They’re hotlines and programs Allina offers or go to your management to ask for help. You really aren’t alone in this, there are others like you out there. What I also don’t understand is this. Our lovely GOVERNMENT is going to tax YOU and your EMPLOYER for having those health insurance plans you worked so hard to get. It’s NOT the employer’s doing. This is the reality of our GOVERNMENT taxing those who do well. It’s a no brainer to do what is best for yourself and the common good. If our Employer doesn’t have to pay penalty tax and you don’t have to pay that penalty tax – that is more money in your pocket – you will be on the loosing end eventually if you keep that plan and so with the company, who then will not profit and NOT be able to give you a raise. Then you’ll strike over that next. It’s a never ending cycle of political BS!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Courageous on June 24, 2016 at 11:29 pm

    I was an MNA nurse for quite a few years before I took a non-MNA position. I enjoyed the MNA health care plans at that time as I felt they would cover me no matter what happened and provided me with good options. One of the concerns I had about taking a non MNA position was the change in my health care coverage. To be honest I was somewhat fearful that if something happened to me I would end up having to pay more and so would I end up regretting my decision. So I can understand how nurses feel about changing over to the regular Allina health plans. However, at that same time I didn’t really take the time to actually understand that the MNA plan that I had for many years, was actually costing me quite a bit more money than if I took an Allina plan. This is just my experience and I realize that others have other concerns that relate to them. I know that I made the right decision for me and I respect others who are not ready or even desire to change. We just need to have courage and not live our lives in fear of the future. As for the nurse who lost her relationships over this, that is tough, but if friendships are held together by a common bond of health insurance or even MNA for that matter, then surely there must be other colleagues to be found who can think deeper thoughts and forgive those who are not just like them.

    Reply

  6. Posted by notashamed on July 1, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    I’ve been checking this site for several weeks now to see if there was activity- I’m so glad that there is! I honored this strike for 3 days then worked 2 days. In the end, I care more about my patients and my non nurse co-workers (who by the way worked incredibly hard while nurses were out) than appeasing the MNA/NNU. I love our current insurance, but times have changed. The arrogance of some nurses appalls me- I’m not sure why they feel we deserve better than anyone else. I firmly believe that we are part of a team and whether one is a nurse, doctor or transport person, we all contribute to the care and healing of our patients. Personally, I’m glad my decision is made in the event of another strike. I felt physically ill for days before choosing to come back, but once I returned, it felt right. God gave me a brain and a conscience- I followed them.

    Reply

    • Hi, I’m glad you had the strength and dignity to take care of what your conscience was telling you to do. Sometimes the hard choices we make bring if not immediately, profound changes that better our lives in the long run. You did it!!!! Be proud of yourself. The patients are lucky to have you.

      Reply

    • Hi Notashamed,
      I was hoping this site would never be needed again but glad it is here for support. We all have to do what we feel it right…and for some that may be on the picket line but I am hoping that will not happen again. I do fear the union will push for another strike without giving all the facts to the nurses. Education is power! If they truly knew what is on the table they may not follow the crowd.
      Blessings to you!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Faithfulnurse on August 16, 2016 at 7:38 am

    Did any of you resign before you crossed? I did not and am now very afraid of what will happen. I have now, sadly (despite some things, a lot of good has been done). Suggestions??

    Reply

  8. Here is the link to an article from a nurse that crossed the picket line and will again to care for her patients.

    http://www.startribune.com/allina-and-the-nurses-union-why-i-will-go-to-work-even-if-strike-is-called/390506641/

    Reply

  9. Here are a couple links to information from the National Right To Work (NRTW)

    Highlight the links and right click or copy/paste into your browser.

    http://www.nrtw.org/about-your-legal-rights-private-sector-employee

    http://www.nrtw.org/a/a_7_p.htm

    http://www.nrtw.org/RDA.htm

    You should resign before you cross the picket line or you can be fined. If you have questions you can contact the NRTW through their website. They are aware of what is going on here in MN and are there to help.

    Blessings to you all who are having to go through this and for the patients. I wish I would have not ever had to see this day again.

    Reply

  10. Posted by notashamed on August 23, 2016 at 5:26 pm

    So there is a new rumor floating about–The union plans to go on an open ended strike, but plan an unauthorized return to work after a few days. At that point, Allina would lock the nurses out. The most distressing part of the rumor is that no nurse would be able to work at that point, even if you had crossed the line for the last strike and chose to work through this one. Is this true? If the union is playing with these tactics, I am completely disgusted.

    Reply

    • Posted by Faithfulnurse on August 23, 2016 at 7:18 pm

      Boy, I hope not! Where did you hear this?

      Reply

    • Wow, I hope this is a rumor. I would be VERY surprised if Allina locked out nurses who worked through the strike. I imagine they would have some means to support the nurses who are crossing the picket line. Just like they are currently taking names through the strike hotline to arrange for badge access and IDs to continue to work for those of us who are crossing.

      Reply

  11. I am checking to see if this is a possibility…more to come.

    Reply

    • Posted by StandUp on August 24, 2016 at 10:27 am

      According to my NRTW lawyer:

      “During a lock-out you cannot return to work—unlike a strike all permanent employees are kept from working, even if you are not a full member of the Union.

      As to triggering a lock-out, that is up to your employer. The Employer has to institute the lockout, it isn’t something automatically triggered by the Union agreeing to come back to work.

      I don’t know any of the specifics of your situation, so what you say could technically be correct, that if the Union suddenly comes back the employer may decide to have a lockout. But, it is possible it is just a rumor too.”

      Reply

      • Posted by Not ashamed on August 24, 2016 at 6:39 pm

        I spoke to my manager and she hadn’t heard anything about a lockout. She doesn’t think that it is something that Allina would rush into.

        Reply

      • Just a technicality, but they are saying “you cannot return to work” and I am wondering if this also means “you cannot continue working.” As in, if you were on strike and decided to cross the picket line after the strike started “you cannot return to work”, but if you never went on strike maybe you can continue working?

        Either way, I hope this attempt to force a lockout is just a nasty rumor.

        Reply

  12. Posted by notashamed on August 24, 2016 at 8:10 am

    I heard it from a friend at VPCI. If MNA does this, it’s either a way of punishing those who choose to cross. I wonder if they’re also worried that more people will cross.

    Reply

    • Posted by faithfulnurse on August 24, 2016 at 8:20 am

      After I crossed and others found out, people have been coming and asking me about it…so I think yes, more are; more people can also not afford to go without work for that long. All of this over their precious health insurance! It just hits me really hard because I come to work to care for others (and I think work for a great company!), not insurance or a fat pension; also, at my other job, I care for women who are pregnant and have nothing – nothing! So, I cannot bring myself to even think about crying about a better plan when the neighbors in our own neighborhood cities have nothing…I have what I need to live very, very comfortably…but those are just my rationales:-)
      I must be a little ignorant, but who is VPCI? Sorry, I may have been an aide for 9 years, but Ive only been a nurse for 2:-)

      Reply

      • Posted by kelpa123 on August 24, 2016 at 10:22 am

        VPCI is the Virginia Piper Cancer Institute.

        Reply

      • I love your heart faithful nurse! Way to go showing others the way on your unit. The more vocal we are in our opposing viewpoint the more we can encourage others who are afraid of union bullying to come forward and continue to care for our patients.
        I spoke with HR yesterday (I didn’t think I’d need to call the strike hotline again, but I guess we need to do it again to keep our badges working), and they said they are getting A LOT more calls to work this time.

        Reply

        • Posted by Kelpa123 on September 4, 2016 at 8:59 am

          I am an Allina non-contract nurse who, of course, will be working. I cannot tell you how blessed we are to hear the numbers who are calling the hotline. We support you!!

          Reply

  13. This is information I received from the NRTW.

    It is possible for employers to lock out employees, in which case they operate solely with supervisors and temporary replacements, and they won’t allow anyone from the bargaining unit to work, even nurses who did not strike. But lockouts are rare. Again, the most important thing to remind nurses is that they need to resign from the union in advance (before returning to work) if they want to keep working in the face of a strike, or they will be fined and sued. http://www.nrtw.org/a/a_7_p.htm

    I pray for nurses to examine the options and really look at what is on the table. They will be out much more money than they would have paid out for health insurance as this strike will not be over quickly.

    Reply

    • Posted by StandUp on August 24, 2016 at 9:26 pm

      Now that there is another meeting planned for Aug. 30, does that mean the 10 day notice won’t happen until after that? I heard they wanted it to start Sept. 2 or 3rd.

      Reply

      • That is difficult to say. They may submit the notice before the meeting for bargaining power.

        Reply

        • Posted by Not ashamed on August 26, 2016 at 7:33 am

          I just read that Labor Day is the day. This makes me so sad- for nurses, for co-workers and mostly for patients. If I truly believed that MNA was representing us, I might feel better, but I think they’ve turned us into political pawns of the NNU.
          I’m starting to think that this is putting the care less in health care.🙁

          Reply

          • Our affiliation with the AFL-CIO has not been a good change for our nursing union. Many nurses do not even realize that we are no longer part of the American Nurses Association. I wish we could have had the opportunity to vote on that decision.

            Reply

  14. Posted by Faithfulnurse on August 29, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    No

    Reply

  15. Posted by Confused on August 31, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    I have a question hope someone can help. I won’t be ready to cross the the line the first day of the strike , I really am afraid ! I know you need to resign from Mna before you cross . Is it ok to resign mid strike and cross ? And would I avoid the wrath of Mna and being fined. Or does it need to be done prior to the strike starting ? Hope this makes sense ! I would love a answer , I have been finding answers to questions hard to come by these days .

    Reply

    • Posted by StandUp on August 31, 2016 at 9:27 pm

      According to labor law, you can cross anytime after mailing a resignation letter to MNA. It doesn’t mean you have to cross, but if you do, they can’t try to fine you. You can rejoin anytime. The only thing you lose as a non-member is the right to vote in the future. I would send it certified though.

      Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2016 at 10:20 pm

      Call the Allina strike hotline they can help you.

      Reply

    • Posted by notashamed on September 1, 2016 at 7:14 am

      I work in an outpatient clinic and didn’t work the Monday-Wednesday of the last strike. I returned to work on Thursday. I think I sent the letter on Wednesday, but make sure it’s certified and postmarked by the time you return to work. I plan to call the MNA office to make sure they have me in the right category for this one. I would save any paperwork, which unfortunately I didn’t.

      Reply

    • Posted by Don'tTrusttheUnion on September 1, 2016 at 9:35 am

      Send the union a certified letter to their address in Saint Paul. The letter should include your name and address and the effective date of your resignation, presumably the day you’re mailing the letter. I also included my union member # (which you can find by logging in to the website or by calling the union) just to make sure there were no mixups. You can cross the picket line the next day after your letter is postmarked and be fine. Be sure to save a copy of the letter you sent, the payment receipt, the certified mailing receipt (it’s green and white) and the postcard you get back in the mail with the signature of whoever accepted it at the union office (it’s a mint green color). I plan to keep mine for a while. Probably a few years just to be safe.

      Reply

  16. Posted by Mary Baumgartner on September 1, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    I was told that a MNA nurse stated that the union wants Allina to fail. Thay want patients in danger so that the system fails. My question to that nurse is;why did you become a nurse? For your personal gain or to help others?

    Reply

  17. I can see this page is still getting action. That’s great! I’m the nurse that wrote the article in the Star Tribune. If there are any other nurses here who are looking for support in crossing I want you to know that I check my “other” folder on fb regularly. I will keep individuals names PRIVATE (unless you are a hater in which case I hold full rights to taking screen shots and posting them 😉 You can also look me up on our work email. Cheers to the nurses who will ACTUALLY be putting the CARE in healthcare next week!
    http://www.startribune.com/allina-and-the-nurses-union-why-i-will-go-to-work-even-if-strike-is-called/390506641/

    Reply

  18. I’m going to repost this because I think including the link maybe meant it went to be approved instead of posting right away?
    I am the RN who posted the commentary in the Star Tribune (I won’t link this time, but if you google my name and the Star Tribune it will pop right up). I know this is a challenging time for nurses who are choosing to cross. I am checking my “other” folder regularly. Please feel free to message me if you want to commiserate or talk about fears with crossing. I promise I will keep all names PRIVATE. You can find me on FB by searching my name in their search engine, or by clicking on my name at the top of this comment I think.
    Cheers to all the nurses who will ACTUALLY be putting the CARE in healthcare next week!

    Reply

    • Posted by notashamed on September 2, 2016 at 7:18 am

      If anyone is reading this and on the fence, I encourage you to follow your heart and mind. Try not to be afraid of the union and do what you feel is right.

      Reply

  19. Posted by StandUp on September 1, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    Good tips, I already had to use the receipts as proof after they sent me a notice I will be fined. My lawyer has them now.

    Reply

  20. Please make sure you send your letter if you plan on working during this strike. A certified letter with receipt! Blessings to you all

    Reply

  21. I ran the rumor regarding forcing a lockout past one of the HR VPs. Here’s the response that I got:
    “Thank you for bringing this rumor to my attention, I had not heard this one. While Allina Health would have the right to institute a lock out, it’s not something the union can force us to do. Returning to work would also seem to undermine the union’s bargaining posture. They have put a lot of work into setting up an open-ended strike. That said, we will continue to monitor the union’s tactics.”

    Reply

  22. This link is posted on the side of this page but I will post here as well. This is a link to a lost wages calculator.
    http://www.templehealth.org/lostwages/

    Reply

  23. I went by Abbott Friday evening on my way to Children’s expecting to see a sea of red picketing. It was 6:30 pm and there were 2 groups of about 5-6 picketers in front of ANW. Considering it is the first week of the strike I would have expected to see many more out there supporting their cause.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Kelpa123 on September 22, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I am an RN that works at Abbott in a non-contract role. I have encountered several nurses who have chosen to work, but it has been in a setting that I could not thank them and offer personal encouragement. Please know that those of you who are choosing to work, or perhaps getting up the courage to return to work are highly esteemed and valued by those of us here. There IS support and you are NOT alone! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!

    Reply

    • Thank you I am sure they will appreciate all the support as going against the union is not an easy decision but caring for our patients should always come first.

      Reply

  25. Posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2016 at 8:43 am

    Thank you for your support. Non RN’s in my department have been amazingly supportive and I feel that we have come together even more as a team. I love being a nurse, but I love being part of a larger group caring for our patients more.
    May I also say, I’m embarrassed by some of the tactics that I see going on by the strike team.

    Reply

  26. The recent No vote brings sadness to our nursing profession. I still wonder if the nurses really read the proposals or if they are following the masses. I cannot see how they will ever be offered anything better…and they will get very cold on the picket line. Here is a link to the information and proposal:

    http://www.allinahealth.org/Footer/Negotiations/Proposal/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

